Wrapping up Week 4

It’s crazy to think that this is the end of week four, which means I’m officially a third through my internship. CRAZY.

This week I started preliminary designs on OneBrand. For those of you who know me well, you know that wireframes and mockups are two of my favorite things to do. It has been a great change of pace to stop working on site maps/flow charts and move into the world of Photoshop. It’s beyond rewarding to use the skills I’ve learned the past several years and know that one day soon my designs will be there for everyone in the JDRF world to see.

Yesterday, the MarCom (Marketing & Communications) team had their monthly meeting. This was probably about 25-30 people (and the VP of MarCom!). In that meeting we went over some new projects that will be rolling out shortly (so excited) and the Brand Book. I’m mentioning the Brand Book because of how amazing I found it. Others probably found it incredibly boring, but this 60 page book is life for any designer. It went over the JDRF logo in detail, what our brand fonts are, how to use our name, what our colors are and the proportions to use them in, and it just kept going. I found it fascinating that the entire “brand” of a company can be written in just 60 pages. Even more so, how much thought goes into every little piece of the company’s branding. Words really can’t describe how interesting I found this document.

In the evening, Aamna, Tyler, Logan and I were asked to speak at the NYC chapter “Diabetes and College” panel. The crowd wasn’t as large as we expected but we still had the opportunity to share our college experiences with managing type 1. Rest assured folks that attending college and managing type 1 is completely doable and part of life. Regardless of the questions we were asked, it was enjoyable to look back and realize how much responsibly I have learned and how much trust my parents were (very) hesitant to give me.

All in all, it’s been a very educational week. Next week we have a luncheon with the CEO Derek Rapp which will lead to a blog post I’m sure!

Until then,
-The Insulin-Powered Intern

Leave a Reply

