79 Days in NYC

This summer was one of a lifetime. Never in a million years did I think I would have the chance to intern in New York City. God truly blessed me with this opportunity and experience. If you know me well, you know that I am never one to have only a few words to say; but, I am going to try my best to sum up everything I have learned.

  1. I will never stop loving the JDRF. Cliche, I know. I always admired the company for its passion in funding research for Type 1. I mean, how could I not? They find research worth funding and are constantly looking for ways to “eliminate their jobs”. Working side-by-side people that are trying to find a cure for type one is amazing – maybe more amazing was the opportunity for the interns and I to show them how much of an impact they have on our lives. Having a hand in the marketing department and having a voice on how we can better reach the world was an incredible feeling.
  2. The city does sleep, but there is always something to do. I don’t think there was anything left to see in the city by the time I left. Between friends and family visiting, and the constant adventures with the interns, I left no stone unturned. I think my bank account was in a bit of a shock, but it was an incredible experience and one that I will remember for a lifetime. So many ask what my favorite thing to do was – I think everything was my favorite. The city has so much to offer and so many different things to do, that no day was the same. Every day was literally an adventure. But don’t believe the lies they tell you when they say the city never sleeps. If you’re hungry at 11 at night, you will realize how many places are not actually open.
  3. My job at JDRF not only showed me the heart of the company, but it showed me that I still have a passion for my major. Some of you knew that I was questioning whether or not to continue with digital media/web design after college, or to teach. I found that I really enjoy what my major has to offer in the industry. In addition, I found that the non-profit industry is fascinating and exciting. There is a purpose behind the work that is done and that purpose is to benefit another. I’ve decided that I would really like to continue to pursue marketing and digital media, hopefully (God-willing) attend grad school (NYU, maybe?). Stay tuned for that one.
  4. NYC is not for the faint of heart. You are constantly reminded of how blessed and fortunate you are in life. Homeless people line the streets, more than I remembered. It was heart wrenching every morning walking out of my dorm to the dining hall for breakfast and see these people asking for money so they could eat. Each individual has a story, and most people don’t give them the time of day. Truly sad, I hope that one day this can change.
  5. God always has a plan, and His plan is better than any plan you could ever make. He knew that I needed to experience the JDRF. He knew I needed to experience New York City. He knew that I needed to meet Aimee, Erika, Aamna, Logan and Tyler. He knew I needed to go beyond my comfort level and do something completely new. I never expected it, but I didn’t need to – He already knew.

I hope that in the future I can work with a company like JDRF, and maybe even move to New York. I never expected to enjoy the city as much as I did. The fast pace environment, the unique boroughs, the diverse culture, everything amazed me.

This summer would not have been as enjoyable or possible without my family and friends. I would like to thank SWD for providing this internship experience, JDRF and my boss for showing me the industry and the immense opportunities within the diabetes community. Thank you Nana for constantly supporting me and always checking in on me. Mom and Dad, thank you for supporting me and visiting me. Thank you Trey, Ryan and Andrew for making me laugh all the time with your witty texts and sassy remarks. Thank you Bailey, Whitney, Rose, and Tabitha for being the best friends (and cousin!) to explore the city with. Thank you Mrs. Solberg, Samantha and Erik for dinner in Grand Central Station, I enjoyed catching up! Carly and Samie, I would have been so homesick if you hadn’t kept talking to me. Aimee and Erika, you two made every night after work fun and entertaining. I don’t know what I would have done if you girls were not interning here. The ladies at Dunkin – my sandwiches were always great, my coffee had some hit or miss days, and sometimes you smiled, so thanks. For everyone who has prayed or sent me encouraging words, thank you! I really appreciate all that you do in my life.

Thank you readers for sticking with me this summer!

Here’s to the adventure that awaits this year,
-The Insulin-Powered Intern

Leave a Reply

